Living Beyond Death Day 1

2013-02-19_1705This post is part of an ongoing series where I reflect on my life as a caregiver for the love of my life Geraldine E Vigna, she died on 12/27/2012. It also includes stories about life after her death.

Geraldine did many things job wise in her life. And one of her vocations was that of a hair stylist in Chicago. She worked at a sister’s shop. She had clients such as George Stephonopalis, the former president Clinton adviser and current TV political talking head.

So it was a natural situation to have Geri Trim my locks. But the last time that she trimmed my hair was back in the first week of November 2012. She had just been released from Tucson Medical Center with a diagnose of cancer. And the first thing that she needed to do was to cut my hair. She was like that always trying to improve the quality of my life.

She took one look at me and declared that a hair cut was in order. Since I needed a haircut and eyebrow trim I agreed. I was starting to look like Andy Rooney, if you know what I mean. She really went after my eyebrows and reduced their volume by about 50%. They were now slimmer than I can ever recall.

But over these last few months as her caregiver I had begun to look very shaggy around the ears. So my first goal was to simply get a haircut. I knew that this was going to be an emotional experience.

I needed to go to my local Fry’s store which has a Super Cuts next door. So I walked in and was happily surprised that on Valentine’s Day that there wasn’t a waiting line. I was next in line which worked out well. If I had needed to wait I likely would have given up on the whole idea for another day.

As it turned out, my stylist was a cute young Latina woman, named Candy. If I had to have a hair cut from anyone other than Geri it didn’t hurt that she was young, cute, and friendly.

I was right up front and explained my situation and that I was likely to cry during the process. She was very patient and gentle with me which helped a lot. It was difficult to endure, at first. She approached the process much differently than Geri would have. I didn’t dare say “that’s not how Geri did it.” That would have stressed her and I would have likely not received her best attention.

I kept my thoughts to myself and in a end I received a fairly decent haircut without too much trauma. Yes, after the death of a loved one something as simple as a hair cut can have huge implications that previously never existed.

Too be continued…

What say you?

I also invite you to visit my home page to learn more about House Cleaning Tucson.

Are you ready to experience a professional and dependable housecleaning service in Tucson? For more information please call 520-248-5183 or email me.

House Cleaning Tucson
814 N Belvedere Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85711

What Say You?

