Living Beyond Death Day 3

2013-02-19_1848This post is part of an ongoing series where I reflect on my life as a caregiver for the love of my life Geraldine E Vigna, she died on 12/27/2012. It also includes stories about life after her death.

On day 1 and 2 of my New Journey I focused on personal care, financial matters, and running errands. Today, I will actually be stepping out of my comfort zone to meet new people and to have new experiences.

One of my goals on my New Journey was to go to Meet-up and join some groups that have interests that are the same or similar to mine. I have from time to time visited the drum circle that meets on Sunday’s at Himmel Park here in Tucson. So a top goal was to join a drum circle even though I don’t have a drum and I am not a drummer.

I reasoned that these people are likely to be spiritual, diverse, and open to others. Heck, it seemed like a no brainer to me. I should have immersed myself in this culture years ago. So I went online and joined the Midnight Drum Circle group and discovered that the group was holding an event on Saturday.

I RSVP’ed the event and call ahead as it was being held at a member’s home. I didn’t want to just show up. That didn’t seem right to me. Plus it was also a potluck and I needed to know what to expect and what to bring. The homeowner answered and pointed out that the meeting was going to be a singing event. Ted, also robustly encouraged me to attend.

Well, my assumption held true. This group was diverse and they were mostly my contemporary’s age wise. I got into many valuable conversations one and one basis and in small groups. I explained that I was on a new life journey after Geri’s passing. The conversation often turned to their own experiences with death of a loved one or other painful events.

I discovered many very spiritual individuals there who expressed how drumming assist them in getting past the pain. I even meant a man who knew the priest that provided my name and that was father Urban. Wow, what are the odds of that occurring? I was named after father Urban. He later moved to the town where this man grew up!!!!!! Really!!!!!

I really hit a home run with this group big time. They are also part of the monthly drum circle in Oracle that I have desired to attend for years. I already have RSVP’ed for this event in early March. Then I asked if anyone could bring an extra drum along so I could try out drumming. I have always just danced at these events. Within an hour someone that I have yet to meet offered to bring an extra drum.

I’m starting to like where this new journey is going.What say you?

I also invite you to visit my home page to learn more about House Cleaning Tucson.

Are you ready to experience a professional and dependable housecleaning service in Tucson? For more information please call 520-248-5183 or email me.

House Cleaning Tucson
814 N Belvedere Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85711

What Say You?

